Pintail Lanka Holidays We are leading Tour Operator based in Mumbai specialized in Holiday packages all around India
  Nuwara Eliya
Home » Destination » Anuradhapura
About Anuradhapura ...  
About Anuradhapura...

Anuradhapura is one of the ancient capitals of Sri Lanka, famous for its well-preserved ruins of ancient Sri Lankan civilization.
The city, now a UNESCO World Heritage Site, lies 205 km north of the current capital Colombo in Sri Lanka's North Central Province, on the banks of the historic Malvathu Oya. It is one of the oldest continuously inhabited cities in the world and one of the eight World Heritage Sites of Sri Lanka.
From the 4th century BC, it was the capital of Sri Lanka until the beginning of the 11th century AD. During this period it remained one of the most stable and durable centers of political power and urban life in South Asia. The ancient city, considered sacred to the Buddhist world, is today surrounded by monasteries covering an area of over sixteen square miles (40 km²).
It is said that King Pandukabhaya made it his capital in the 4th century BC, and that he also laid out the town and its suburbs according to a well organized plan. He constructed a reservoir named Abhayavapi. He established shrines for yakkhas such as Kalawela and Cittaraja. He housed the Yaksini-Cetiya in the form of a mare within the royal precincts and offerings were made to all these demi-gods every year. He chose the sites for the cemetery and for the place of execution, the Chapel of the Western Queen, the Pacchimarajini, the Vessavana Banyan Tree, the Palm of the Vyadhadeva, the Yona Quarter and the House of the Great Sacrifice. The slaves or Candalas were assigned their duties and a village was set apart for them. They build dwellings for Niganthas, for wandering ascetics and for Ajivakas and Brahmanas. He established, the village boundaries. The tradition that King Pandukabhaya made Anuradhapura the capital city of Sri Lanka as early as the 4th century BC had been very important.

Eight Great Places of Veneration

" Sri Maha Bodhiya
" Ruwanwelisaya
" Thuparamaya
" Lovamahapaya
" Abhayagiri Dagaba
" Jetavanarama
" Mirisaveti Stupa
" Lankarama

Other structures

" Isurumuniya
" Magul Uyana
" Vessagiri
" Rathna Prasadaya
" Queen's Palace
" Dakkhina Stupa
" Sela Cetiya
" Naka Vihara
" Kiribath Vehera
" Kuttam Pokuna
" Samadhi Statue
" Toluwila Statue


All rights reserved with Pintail Lanka Holidays, Mail -